CO ACEP 2024 Annual Meeting

The meeting was held at Logan Street in Denver, CO on January 25, 2024


We were grateful for those from around the state who joined us for this engaging meeting. It was wonderful meeting up with old friends and making new connections as we all work together for our specialty and our patients.

Dr. Anna Engeln, now immediate past president for COACEP, discussed the impact that COACEP leadership and advocacy has had and will continue to have on both state and national legislation. Dr. Rebecca Kornas will be taking up the reins of the presidency with focus on protecting the practice of medicine in Colorado by taking on threats to the existing medical malpractice caps, improving pediatric readiness throughout the state, and will continue our advocacy around scope of practice, working to uphold that all communities have access to the gold standard of physician-led care.




We were honored to have State Senator Kyle Mullica join us as our keynote speaker discussing health care legislation and taking questions. Senator Mullica was presented with the Healthcare Champion Award for his incredible work in the Colorado legislature as a leader in policy affecting healthcare. As an actively practicing RN working the Emergency Department, Senator Mullica understands first-hand the unique setting where we practice. His experience is essential as he helps us advocate for our specialty and our patients. We are grateful for his hard work and dedication at the Capitol.


We were excited to celebrate our esteemed colleagues with the following awards:

Meritorious Service Award-Dr. Taylor McCormick, MD
Honors significant achievements that have enhanced Colorado’s Healthcare System and the profession of Emergency Medicine by exemplary service.

John Marx Education Award – Dr. Matthew Riscinti, MD
This award is presented in recognition of outstanding contribution in education to a COACEP member who has made a significant contrition to Emergency Medicine Education.












Champion of Leadership and Advocacy Award – Dr. Ricky Dhaliwal. MD, JD This award recognizes a COACEP member who is a dedicated and innovative champion through their leadership and legislative advocacy for Emergency Medicine and the patients for which we care. Dr. Dhaliwal is the first recipient of this award.


Legacy Award- Dr. Bill Hilty, MD, PHD Awarded to a member for their substantial contributions to the growth and maturation of the College through their exceptional commitment of time and expertise.









Rising Star- Dr. Evan Gerber, MD
This award honors an Emergency Medicine Resident or Fellow who has demonstrated dedication to leadership and Advocacy for Emergency Medicine and for the patients for which we care.


The Hill/Murphy COACEP Council Scholarship was creating in honor of Dr. Doug Hill and Dr. Carla Murphy for their tireless devotion to ACEP leadership. This scholarship will be available to send a Colorado Emergency Medicine Resident to Leadership Council.










Your newly Elected Leadership:

President: Dr. Rebecca Kornas, MD
President-Elect: Jasmeet Dhaliwal, MD, MPH, MBA
Treasurer/Secretary: Laura Edgerley-Gibb, MD
Past President: Anna Engeln, MD

COACEP would like to welcome the following new members who will be joining our Board of Directors:

  • Dr. Bonnie Kaplan, MD
  • Dr. Emily McIsaac, DO
  • Dr. Ricky Dhaliwal, MD, JD
  • Dr. Ken Patrick, DO
  • Dr. Marc Doucette, MD
  • Dr. Parth Shah, DO (Leadership Fellow)

We would also like to recognize our 2023 Board of Directors for their incredible hard work over the past year. Thank you for your dedication and volunteered time spent upholding our specialty and patients:

  • Dr. Sabrina Adams, MD
  • Dr. Jasmeet Dhaliwal, MD, MPH, MBA
  • Dr. Laura Edgerley-Gibb, MD
  • Dr. Anna Engeln, MD
  • Dr. Alexis Garza, MD
  • Dr. Evan Gerber, MD (resident member)
  • Dr. Bill Hilty, MD, PhD
  • Dr. Mark Hinton, MD
  • Dr. Rachelle Klammer, MD
  • Dr. Rebecca Kornas, MD
  • Dr. Jacob Nacht, MD
  • Dr. Kristen Nordenholz, MD
  • Dr. Neal O’Connor, MD
  • Dr. Megan Purdy, MD (resident member)
  • Dr. Allison Trop, MD

Thank you to all our award recipients, board members, and to all our members for what you do every day for Emergency Medicine and for your patients. We had a great time celebrating everyone’s hard work in 2023 and look forward to another active year advocating for Emergency Medicine and the patients which we serve.